Books

Five books to read if you love Jane Eyre

If you are a reader, you must have read or heard about Jane Eyre. If you have read Jane Eyre and are a fan of the novel, I have a list of five books you should definitely check out.


1. My Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows and Brodi Ashton

You may think you know the story. After a miserable childhood, penniless orphan Jane Eyre embarks on a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall. There, she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester. Despite their significant age gap (!) and his uneven temper (!!), they fall in love—and, Reader, she marries him. (!!!)
Or does she?
Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, a certain gentleman is hiding more than skeletons in his closets, and one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Brontë, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood are about to be drawn together on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

2. The Flight of Gemma Hardy by Margot Livesey

When her widower father drowns at sea, Gemma Hardy is taken from her native Iceland to Scotland to live with her kind uncle and his family. But the death of her doting guardian leaves Gemma under the care of her resentful aunt, and it soon becomes clear that she is nothing more than an unwelcome guest at Yew House. When she receives a scholarship to a private school, ten-year-old Gemma believes she’s found the perfect solution and eagerly sets out again to a new home. However, at Claypoole she finds herself treated as an unpaid servant.
To Gemma’s delight, the school goes bankrupt, and she takes a job as an au pair on the Orkney Islands. The remote Blackbird Hall belongs to Mr. Sinclair, a London businessman; his eight-year-old niece is Gemma’s charge. Even before their first meeting, Gemma is, like everyone on the island, intrigued by Mr. Sinclair. Rich (by Gemma’s standards), single, flying in from London when he pleases, Hugh Sinclair fills the house with life. An unlikely couple, the two are drawn to each other, but Gemma’s biggest trial is about to begin: a journey of passion and betrayal, redemption and discovery, that will lead her to a life of which she’s never dreamed.
Set in Scotland and Iceland in the 1950s and ’60s, The Flight of Gemma Hardy–a captivating homage to Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre–is a sweeping saga that resurrects the timeless themes of the original but is destined to become a classic all its own.

3. Manga Classics: Jane Eyre by Stacey King

As an orphaned child, Jane Eyre is first cruelly abused by her aunt, then cast out and sent to a charity school. Though she meets with further abuse, she receives an education, and eventually takes a job as a governess at the estate of Edward Rochester. Jane and Rochester begin to bond, but his dark moods trouble her. When Jane uncovers the terrible secret Rochester has been hiding, she flees and finds temporary refuge at the home of St. John Rivers.

4. Jane Eyre: The Graphic Novel by Amy Corzine

Presents in graphic novel format an adaptation of Brontë’s story about an orphaned young English woman who accepts employment as a governess at Thornfield Hall, a country estate owned by the mysterious and remote Mr. Rochester.

5. The Madwoman Upstairs by Catherine Lowell

In this smart and enthralling debut in the spirit of The Weird Sisters and Special Topics in Calamity Physics, the only remaining descendant of the Brontë family embarks on a modern-day literary scavenger hunt to find the family’s long-rumored secret estate, using clues her eccentric father left behind.

Samantha Whipple is used to stirring up speculation wherever she goes. As the last remaining descendant of the Brontë family, she’s rumored to have inherited a vital, mysterious portion of the Brontë’s literary estate; diaries, paintings, letters, and early novel drafts; a hidden fortune that’s never been shown outside of the family.

But Samantha has never seen this rumored estate, and as far as she knows, it doesn’t exist. She has no interest in acknowledging what the rest of the world has come to find so irresistible; namely, the sudden and untimely death of her eccentric father, or the cryptic estate he has bequeathed to her.

But everything changes when Samantha enrolls at Oxford University and bits and pieces of her past start mysteriously arriving at her doorstep, beginning with an old novel annotated in her father’s handwriting. As more and more bizarre clues arrive, Samantha soon realizes that her father has left her an elaborate scavenger hunt using the world’s greatest literature. With the aid of a handsome and elusive Oxford professor, Samantha must plunge into a vast literary mystery and an untold family legacy, one that can only be solved by decoding the clues hidden within the Brontë’s own writing.

A literary adventure from start to finish, this vibrant and original novel is a moving exploration of what it means when the greatest truth is, in fact, fiction.


I hope you check out these books and find your next favorite. Also, I would like to know your thoughts about classics and their retellings. What do you think of them?

Find me on

Goodreads| Twitter

11 thoughts on “Five books to read if you love Jane Eyre

        1. I don’t know…I was bored to death while reading it but saying it feels like sacrilege lmao. I just didn’t care about anyone in that book, and it was not really the romance I like to read… There’s SO much more to it than the romance, though. And I didn’t like the ending at all. It felt very wrong to me for some reason. I hope you like it though. And a happy new year to you too! 💕💕

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Hmm, now that makes me not too much of a despo to read it. I have to because it’s in my challenge and besides I have bought it. I hope it isn’t that bad as I have imagined it. Hope you have a happy and healthy life this year😘😋😊✌

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Suzan, you should definitely read it. I really hope you ENJOY it! It wasn’t as bad as I’ve made it sound. And thank you so much. I hope you have an amazing year! 😘💕

            Liked by 1 person

  1. OH MY GODDDD THIS POST CAME IN MY LIFE AT THE PERRRFEECTTTTT TMEEEEE!!! AHHHHHHHHHHH 😍😍😍😍❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ I JUST finished reading Jane Eyre and THESE SUGGESTIONS ARE AMAZING! I LOVE THIS POST AND I AM GOING TO ADD ALL OF THESE BOOKS TO MY TBRRR!! 😍😍❤️❤️❤️💕💕💕👻☔️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU SO MUCH, hun💕💕! You should definitely read these books. I would love to know your thoughts on all of them. I hope you LOVE them all. 🤩😍💓

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s