Reviews

Book Review: Milk and Honey

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟.75

Milk and honey’ is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. ‘milk and honey’ takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

I’m not sure how to review a book when I didn’t jot down any thoughts I had. Also, I didn’t really have many thoughts and I had cataloged the few I had in my head but they’re already in my brain’s recycle bin.

I don’t read poetry often. The only poetry book I’d read before Milk and Honey was The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo (and it was so good!). It made me want to read more poetry collections and I liked the idea. A few days ago, a library asked me if I wanted to keep any book, and when I went there I realized I didn’t have much of a choice because I had to pick between a Durjoy Dutta book with a weird-ass name and Rupi Kaur’s Milk and Honey, and I chose Rupi Kaur, of course!

It was short, and the blurb said it was about femininity and other important subjects. So I decided to read it. I started this book on Sunday and was able to finish it in about one hour or something, which is a plus because I always try to find short books.

The book does talk about important issues, and I’m really glad it says it in a way people find easy to comprehend. It touches upon a few subjects that are personal to me, and that’s probably why I liked it more. I think it was pretty powerful and the poems were meaningful.

However, I do think that the poetry in this book is not for everyone. Some people are critical of it, but it was definitely for me. I think I’ll enjoy more of Instapoetry.

All in all, it was really quick and interesting. If you like Instapoetry, you’ll love this one.

Do you guys read poetry? What do you think of Instapoetry? Have you read Milk and Honey? Let’s talk in the comments.

Find me on:

Goodreads | Twitter

25 thoughts on “Book Review: Milk and Honey

  1. Have this and really need to try it, I love poetry but am use to reading long and complex ones from the Romantics and Metaphysicals so I am very intrigued to see what I think of this!! Great review!! 💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, you should try it! I can’t wait to know your thoughts about it but why am I nervous lol??!! 😂I hope you enjoy it tho🙈! Thank you so much 💓💓

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 😂 lol no need to be nervous (probably?😂) – I definitely will, I might try to squeeze it in before the end of the month since it is pretty short! Thank you 💜 You are very welcome!! 💜💜

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked this one when I was reading it but… I don’t remember much from it? It was a good experience but in my case not very memorable one.
    I think Instapoetry, like all other poetry, is hit or miss for me. I love some, and I’m meh about others but it’s always nice to venture outside of my usual reading choices 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I know what you mean?? Even though I found the poems powerful and meaningful, it wasn’t really outstanding imo. It’s not even been a week and I’ve already forgotten some of the things it talked about lol. I totally agree with you –it’s always good to read books outside of your comfort zone and discover amazing stuff. That’s why I decided to give this book a try in the first place. I do see the appeal of Instapoetry and I hope to find some amazing collections, tho.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oops 😬🙈 I love Durjoy Dutta too (I don’t think I’m convinced 🤣) but the title of the book was really weird and that’s why I had to give it a pass 😂 OMG your cutie???!! Am I missing something? 😍🤣

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I don’t remember the exact name. I think it was something like, “Of course, I love you till I find someone better??” It was interesting tho! 😂🤣 OMG, I found someone to make fun of to ruffle your feathers! 😜

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I am angry with you for ignoring THE God for Rupi Kaur. He writes awesome books you need to try it. Trust me. I want to try it too. Try Harlan Coben if you want to tease me. I could marry him without regrets. He is so good with writing. 😘😍😍😍😘

            Liked by 1 person

          2. I had started reading his book once when I was in school. Btw, I didn’t realize you read love stories???😜 Also, have you read Chetan Bhagat? 😂 I’ve been meaning to read Harlan Coben’s books. 😍 Have you read the
            Millennium series btw?

            Liked by 1 person

          3. I don’t read love stories, I just like his one book the perfect us. I want to read it, my friend recommended it to me. As I hate romance I haven’t read it but want to read it.
            Nope, haven’t read Chetan Bhagat. I want to read the girl in room 102 but I am still waiting. Try hold tight by Harlan Coben. I love it. Yeah, I have read 1 book in it and that’s my next year challenge to read all of them. I am dying to do that challenge. Hope to do it soon. Hope you come online soon.

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Okay!! I haven’t heard of it. Tell me when you read it though! I would love to check it out. 😍 Okay, I knew you’d want to read the mystery one. I’ve read three of CB’s books maybe??? Or maybe four?? Not sure. 😂 Okay, I’ll check it out too. Okay, that’s cool. I wanna know your thoughts! I’m gonna read them too. Did you like the first one?

            Liked by 1 person

          5. I will now that you have forced me to read romance.😒you know me well don’t you? I am not interested much in him although I am interested in ‘one night at the call centre and the girl in room 102’ first check that out then try millennium because millennium will take a lot of your time. It has 3 huge parts. And they are time taking about 400 pages. I didn’t read the first one but the second one is actually my second fav after hold tight. Try them but if you leave them midway I will murder you. 🛠

            Like

  3. I’ve been meaning to get this for my mum! Do you think it’s suitable for older readers by any chance? Is it gripping enough for those stubborn readers?

    Like

Leave a comment